When is the next quarantine list review? Countries at risk of losing UK travel corridors in tomorrow’s update

Fill the Form if you would like to Book Cheap Travel from the uk and Ireland with Sharingcost.com or just scroll down for content

UK holidaymakers are only able to visit a select number of countries without facing a 14-day quarantine, making travelling abroad complicated this year.

As countries around the world continue to battle the Covid-19 pandemic, the UK’s travel corridor list is being regularly amended based on infection numbers and risk levels.

The Transport Secretary Grant Shapps provides weekly updates on Thursday on which countries the Government has removed or added to its list.

Here are our predictions for this week’s update.

Which countries are at risk?

Germany might be at risk of being removed from the UK exemption list in the next announcement.

It registered over 90 cases per 100,000 people in the seven days leading up to 28 October, according to figures released by the PC Agency travel consultancy, which regularly publishes infection numbers.

UPDATE: Following an assessment of the latest data, the Canaries, the Maldives, Denmark and Mykonos have been ADDED to the #TravelCorridors list. From 4am on Sunday 25th Oct, you will no longer need to self-isolate if you arrive from those destinations. pic.twitter.com/vVF40XKS2t

— Rt Hon Grant Shapps MP (@grantshapps) October 22, 2020

The threshold for countries to be removed from the exemption list in the past has usually been 20 people out of every 100,000 being infected with Covid-19 in a country or on an island, over seven days.

Other factors have also been taken into account such as testing capacity, number of deaths and how the virus has spread.

Cyprus, Sweden and mainland Greece are also at risk of having their travel corridors removed.

When is the next announcement?

Grant Shapps usually posts an announcement at around 5pm on Thursdays, so it is likely the next update will come on 29 October.

Last week, the Canary Islands, Mykonos, the Maldives and Denmark were added to the travel corridor list, meaning that English travellers can now visit these destinations without having to quarantine.

This photograph taken on October 6, 2020 shows the landmark windmills on the Greek island of Mykonos as the sunsets in Chora. (Photo by David GANNON / AFP) (Photo by DAVID GANNON/AFP via Getty Images)
The Greek island of Mykonos was added to the UK’s travel corridor list last week, meaning that English travellers can now visit it without having to quarantine (Photo: David Gannon /Getty)

However people arriving into the UK from Liechtenstein from last Sunday will now find themselves having to self-isolate.

What is the current list of travel corridor countries?

Under the current rules, all travellers need to fill in an online Government form before travelling to the UK from overseas, which cannot be completed until 48 hours before arrival.

While everybody needs to take this step, the 14-day quarantine only applies to arrivals from outside the list of Government travel corridors, with a potential fine of up to £10,000 for those who break the isolation rules.

Read More - Featured Image

Read More

Winter sun holidays 2020: How to book a trip without the stress, with tips for flexible bookings and insurance

After the most recent announcement, the list of corridors for people returning to England currently includes the following countries – it is regularly updated so it’s always worth checking the Government’s website for the latest guidance:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • the Azores
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • The Canary Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • the Channel Islands
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • Gibraltar
  • Germany
  • Greece (If you arrive in England from Mykonos before 4am 25 October you will need to self-isolate)
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • the Isle of Man
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Macao (Macau)
  • Madeira
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sweden
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

Original Article

by admin via Sharingcost.com


Popular Posts